News Bits & Pieces

I’ve got a bunch of stuff to post about that won’t support their own blog so I’m going to throw them into one post here.

  • I’ve got a bit of an exclusive here. Not really, but I guess you could see it as news. Yesterday Matt Fraction was going on a Q&A spree on twitter. I decided to ask him if we would see any Iron Fist in Fear Itself. He responded to me by saying “yes and after that, he–” So you can expect to see Iron Fist in Fear Itself and who knows, we might see more Fraction Iron Fist sometime in the future.

 

  • At C2E2 (yeah, I’m going kind of far back) the new creative teams for The Punisher and Daredevil were announced. On The Punisher, we’ll see Greg Rucka writing and Marco Checchetto penciling the book. I am completely on board for this. With Jason Aaron and Steve Dillion writing PunisherMAX, this is a great time to be a Punisher fan. On the other hand, it’s not the greatest time to be a Daredevil fan. Shadowland was god awful and Daredevil Reborn is only okay. In July the new creative team of writer Mark Waid and artists Paolo Rivera and Marcos Martin will take over Daredevil. I’m still not sure how to feel about this. I’m hopefully, I’ll say that, but I am afraid that Daredevil is turning into Spider-Man. In interviews Waid said he’s replacing noir elements with adventure and he’s taking him out of Hells Kitchen. Along with having Martin on the book, that sounds a lot like Spider-Man to me. I’ll be reading, but I’m not very excited.RiveraDD
  • Originally I wasn’t planning on buying any of the Flashpoint tie-ins. It sounded a lot like House of M and I remember being burned when I bought those tie-ins. I changed my mind on Flashpoint when I heard about the Batman miniseries. Flashpoint Batman: Knight of Vengeance Written by Brian Azzarello with art by Eduardo Risso. How could I possibly pass up a Batman book written by the team behind 100 Bullets?

art by Dave Johnson

  • As you may have heard Steve Rogers will be Captain America again this summer (sorry for the spoiler if you didn’t know). In July, Captain America #1 will launch. While I like that they’re doing with Steve and Bucky now, I completely understand why they’d want to do this. With the movie coming out, I makes sense to make the character in the movie the character in the comic. I’m not worried about what will happen with the characters because in Brubaker I trust.

Well, that’s all I’ve got for today. If all goes according to plan I’ll have a new post for Friday. If I can’t get one done in time (I’m a student and I’ve got stuff to do) I might end up posting a piece I did in my writing seminar about Daredevil and Batman. Thanks for reading everybody! Share with your friends.

-Kelly

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

