The Comics of FCBD 2011 Part 2

Earlier this week I began my coverage of Free Comic Book Day 2011 and today I’m wrapping it up. This is the second half of the article I started on Tuesday. Here are my thoughts on the other six comics I picked up on FCBD: LK

I’ve always heard a lot of good things about IDW’s Locke & Key, but I’ve never read it. Free Comic Book Day gave me the chance to check it out. I’m going to be honest; I’m not a huge fan of the concept. It seems like a good book, but it just isn’t for me. In the page that explained everything about the book it said that this issue is all ages friendly, but it’s usually fairly R-Rated. I’m not a fan of that. After reading this comic, I can see how a younger kid would really enjoy it and want to read more. But they depending on their age, they might not be able to read anymore. Something about that makes it feel like false advertising to me. SD

Now moving over to actual kid friendly books, Image comics put out the Super Dinosaur Origin Special. I haven’t read Super Dinosaur issue one so this was my intro to the book. This was really fun. It was a great introduction to the book and told a full story. A couple of years back Robert Kirkman and Jason Howard launched another book, The Astounding Wolfman, on Free Comic Book Day and I bought every issue of that series. I most likely won’t buy Super Dinosaur just because I don’t have room for it on my pull list, but I will recommend it to every kid or parent that I know.

For the most part I’m not a fan of the things put out by Disney, but I do find some of their older pre-50’s stuff interesting. That’s why I picked up Walt Disney’s Mickey Mouse by Floyd Gottfredson. This was a preview for a hardcover being released by Fantagraphics that collects the old Mickey Mouse newspaper comics. The preview collected an entire story arc about Mickey racing Pluto at the dog tracks. These aren’t kids comics, they’re for everybody. This was a great read for people interested in comic book history. 

Archaia Comics released a flip book including a Mouse Guard story, a Dark Crystal story, and a four page story called Season of the Dapper Men. The art was what really stood out in this comic. Another thing that stood out to me was that mice are dicks. The Mouse Guard story centers around a mouse that needs to kill a hawk, a crap, and a snake to protect the other mice. The mouse convinces each animal to give him a part of them to help him kill the other two so that the big animal could be the only predator. The mouse ends up with a talon, a piece of shell, and some venom and he uses these tools to kill each beast. It’s a smart thing to do, but I was thinking about it and I ended up being on the side of the dead animals. To me, what the mouse did was the same thing as if I would convince somebody to loan me their prosthetic and then beat them to death with it. I’m probably looking too far into this, but it bothered me. Another thing I found odd was how terrifying everything is in the Dark Crystal. I’ve never seen the movie, but now I don’t want to see it at all.  Out of this book my favorite thing was the Dapper Men story. I really want to read more of that now. 

Red Five Comics put out a special issue of Atomic Robo and I had to pick that up. I’ve always heard good things about Atomic Robo, but I’ve never taken the time to read it. It’s a fairly crazy book. The evil dinosaur had to be my favorite villain of FCBD. How could anything beat a raptor wearing a suit shooting automatic guns and making Doctor Who references? This definitely made me interested in reading more of Atomic Robo. The comic also had previews of two other books; Moon Girl and Foster Broussard. I wasn’t interested in all about the latter, but Moon Girl seemed rather interesting. The art had a unique look to it and the story seemed very pulpy. Out of the three titles found in this book, I think I’ll be most likely to pick up Moon Girl. 2000 AD

The final comic that I grabbed was something that I’ve wanted to read for a while. I always hear those crazy British people talking about their weird weekly comics; 200 something or other.  I was very pleased to see that there was a special issue of 2000 AD for Free Comic Book Day. 2000 AD was about as insane as I was hoping it would be. It showcased a wide variety of art in a sci-fi anthology. If 2000 AD wasn’t a weekly series and wasn’t from across the pond, I would probably start reading it. The series seems like a lot of fun. I’m glad I now know what all the Brits are talking about.

Well that is the end of my FCBD 2011 coverage. It was a good year for free comics. I enjoyed all of the books and I think the companies put all of their best feet forward. Hopefully this pulled some new readers into comics. If you had fun at FCBD this year, bring a friend that doesn’t read comics next year. This is the 10th Free Comic Book Day and it gets better every year. If you couldn’t make it out this year or haven’t been to a Free Comic Book Day yet, you need to go next year. Find your local comic shop, grab some free stuff, and give them your business. You won’t regret it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Free Comic Book Day

Leave a Reply

