My Thoughts on the DC Changes

You’ve probably heard by now that DC dropped a bomb on the entire comic industry. It was announced Tuesday, May 31st that DC was revamping their entire line of comics. Needless to say, the internet lost its goddamn mind. Some people were happy with it, some people were angry with it, some people were yelling, and some people were ever arguing about tone (I’m looking at you Jared (@jfx316 on twitter) and Tom Brevoort).

It’s been a couple days since the initial announcement and my reaction of “NO! This is bullshit!” has passed. I’m still not really happy with it, but I’m starting to become okay with it.

I’m not a fan of reboots or retcons for the most part because, in my opinion, it goes against the core idea of serialized fiction: the past affects the future. I don’t like that the company as a whole can decide to completely change the past and start new.  

From what I’ve been able to gather the revamp will result in costume changes, younger versions of the characters, and a world closer to our own. This sounds a lot like Marvel’s Ultimate Universe. The huge difference here is that Marvel gave you the choice to read the Ultimate books. DC isn’t giving you a choice here. You either read the new universe or you have to get out.

It’s a ballsy approach, but it absolutely comes off as being rude and a bit disrespectful to the creators and readers of their books. The creators were forced to wrap up their plans of their books and, if they’re part of the three-quarters of the creative teams, have been taken off their book. Only one-quarter of the creative teams were left on the books they were working on will be allowed to (potentially) continue their plans (depending on how much is changed in the reboot).

With the changes to the universe there will be 52 brand new series. That is a huge, huge amount of series. I’m assuming that some of the less ordered series will be turned into mini-series. That will probably cut down the number of books to the amount that DC is putting out now, which is around 34 (but don’t quote me on that). Thus far none of the announced series have interested me much, other than the Red Lantern series that I’ve been waiting for.

Even with all of the series I still worry about a title like Secret Six. This is my favorite DC comic right now and whether we see that team again is really up in the air. As long as DC continues to publish Secret Six, with Gail Simone writing it of course, and a Batman title being written by Scott Snyder I will be happy.

At the end of the day, I’m not a fan of DC’s actions, but I’ll probably continue to buy some of their books. More than anything the creative teams will draw me in over the characters now. I don’t know how this will go for DC and I worry that it might end up pushing away more readers than it brings in. If DC wants to bring in new people they will need to make a big push in advertising outside of comics when September hits. Non-comics readers might be interested now, but I guarantee that they will forget over the course of the summer.

DC, you’ve got a long road ahead of you and I wish you the best of luck.

Don’t screw this up.

Leave a comment

Filed under Comics, DC

Leave a Reply

