The New DC Titles I Plan on Buying

Over the past couple of days a majority of the new comics being released be DC have been unveiled. There are seven of the titles that I plan on picking up. I’ll update my list whenever the rest of the comics have been announced.

  • Green Lantern by Geoff Johns and Doug Mahnke. In all honesty, this book is just barely making it onto the list. GL has been losing my interest in 2011. Hopefully this reboot or revamp or whatever they’re calling it will reinvigorate this comic.
  • Red Lanterns by Peter Milligan, Ed Benes, and Rob Hunter. I love me some Red Lanterns and I’ve been excited for this book since it was announced a while ago.
  • Batman by Scott Snyder and Greg Capullo. DC made me very happy by putting Snyder on a Batman title. His run on Detective Comics is one of my favorite books on the stands now. They only made it better by putting Greg Capullo on art duties. Can’t wait to give this a read.
  • Detective Comics by Tony Daniel. This is right on the bubble for me. I’ve been buying Daniels’ issues on Batman because I’ve become invested in the characters instead of reading it for great stories. Now that the characters will be changed up, I may not pick this up. It all really depends on the initial reviews, but I’ll probably read the first issue for sure. Whether I continue to buy it or not is up for debate.
  • Birds of Prey by Duane Swierczynski and Jesus Saiz. I’m buying this book just because Swierczynski is writing it. His books are great and his comic work has been fairly solid as well. Plus the idea of a Gotham Black Ops team is pretty cool.
  • Resurrection Man by Dan Abnett, Andy Lanning, and Fernando Dagnino. I’ve never heard about this character before, but with the power to come back from the dead and have a different power each time he does sounds interesting. The writing team of Abnett and Lanning also have me wanting to read this after reading the insanity they put into Heroes for Hire each issue.
  • I, Vampire by Josh Fialkov and Andrea Sorrentino. I’ll be buying this book just for Fialkov. If you haven’t read his recently wrapped up series, Echoes, you need to read it.

Well that’s what I’ve got for now. For a full list of the books that have been announced thus far check out the list on Panels on Pages: http://panelsonpages.com/?p=39431

Leave a comment

Filed under Comics, DC

Leave a Reply

