My Summer Reads Part 1

By Kelly Harrass 

Looking for something to read this summer? Well, look no further than this list of what I’ve been reading. I’m almost halfway through my summer break, so look for part two near the end of August.  

The Mourner by Richard Stark- This is the fourth book in Richard Stark’s (Donald Westlake’s) Parker series. If you’re not familiar with the Parker series all you need to know is that Parker is the ultimate anti-hero. In most other books Parker would be the bad guy. I really enjoyed the book, but the ending was a little lackluster. From what I’ve read the Parker books are more interesting for the characters and the way the story is told than the story itself. If you’re looking for a hardboiled crime book to read, this or any of the Parker novels are a good choice.

Shadow of the Past by Thacher E Cleveland- When this ebook was released I interviewed the author about it for this very blog (and you can read it here: https://crackingthebooks.wordpress.com/2011/04/27/interview-with-shadows-of-the-past-author/). Now that I’m not at school I finally had time to read the book and was very happy with it. I’d describe this as a horror novel with a heart. I became really emotionally invested in the characters (maybe a bit more than I should have). It’s funny, it’s creepy, and at a price of only 99 cents on Amazon, you have no reason not to check this out.

Expiration Date by Duane Swierczynski- I’ve had this book for a while and finally got the chance to read it. This book had a really cool twist on time travel mixed with a mystery. It reminded me of one of those darker episodes of Doctor Who. It was an exciting read that I finished in two days. Depending on how you look at it the ending is slightly disturbing and happy at the same time, so no matter how full your glass of water is, you should enjoy the ending. Also, I can’t not talk about the great art that pops up every now and then in the book. If a time travel-mystery-pulp style novel sounds good to you, you should be reading this.  Just so you know, at the time that I’m writing this (6/29/11) the book is on sale on Amazon for only $5.60.

The Tenth Council by Brad Meltzer- I don’t think I’ve ever been as interested in the Supreme Court as when I finished this book. As this book went on I began to care more about the characters than the story itself. The dialog is well written and I feel like I learned a lot from this book. Brad Meltzer’s books are well researched and this one is no different. It’s a thriller through and through and at times it’s impossible to figure out where things are going to go.

Fun & Games by Duane Swierczynski- This reads like a summer action movie but without all of the overused CGI. Remember those days? The gritty action movies with hard hitting fight scenes that actually had a good story. Fun & Games is one of those movies put onto pages. The plot in this book twists and turns, but it still manages to stay grounded. As the title indicates, this book is a very fun read. It’s fast paced and you might find yourself finishing it in one sitting.

Well that’s what I’ve been reading. What about you? Leave a comment telling me what you’re reading this summer. If you decide to check out any of these books, let me know if my recommendation was a good one. Now, get reading!

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

